Scary English is scary

PapersThis summer I am going to have to write University level essays in English for the first time in my life. I am understandably a bit nervous. So to prepare for that I signed up for a course in Academic English. I am now reading this intro chapter about different types of writing (literary vs. expository) and it occurred to me that it might be smart to compile a list of good words. I could hang it on the wall above my desk at Sussex Uni so I’ll be more likely to remember to use them.

Words such as discourse, convey, reflect, and many more.

Can you think of any useful words that would make the professors happy? Vocabulary is important, yes?

Another thing. Here in Iceland I have learned and acquired very strict rules as to how to format essays. All of a sudden it occurred to me that such rules might be different in England. That’s a very scary thought. I wouldn’t want to lose points due to formatting. It’s an international summer school though, maybe they’ll be wise enough to explain what they want. They’ll have students from all over the world, some who haven’t been to school in a long time and some from very different schools. Ok, I think I’ll stop worrying about this now.

It’s funny that writing essays worries me much more than spending 4 weeks alone in England, studying new things, meeting all sorts of people and whatever else the trip will entail. I can deal with the social aspect of it, but I’m terrified of looking stupid (by writing bad essays).

I’m probably making a much bigger deal of this than I should.

Image from Stockvault.

Leave a Reply

