All sorts of things

It’s been a while since my last post. After I finished my exams I’ve been feeling kind of brainless and uninspired. I have all sorts of ideas for something to write about, but I can’t seem to make myself sit down and actually get it done.

So, here’s a short post with all sorts of things.

In my last post I linked to an article by Sheril Kirshenbaum, where she urged people to bring an end to the silence that shrouds rape and violence against women. Since then a new movement has been started and a website set up. Take a look at http://www.stopsilence.com and take part.

***

I read The Monster of Florence by Douglas Preston and Mario Spezi the other day. It is a non fiction telling of a serial killer who terrorized Florence in the 70’s and 80’s and how the Italian police completely botched the investigation. In the end, almost 30 years after the murders took place Preston and Spezi got caught up in the investigation and Spezi was even accused of being the Monster. This book is a great read, exciting and well written. The story itself is absolutely mad and as good as any fictional thriller.

Take a look here at Amazon: The Monster of Florence.

***

I have turned my Twitter user image green and my time zone to Tehran in support of the people of Iran. I believe very strongly in freedom, freedom of speech, freedom of religion, freedom from tyranny. Such complete disregard for the will of the people digusts me and the violence that is now tearing the place apart is horrifying. I hope from the bottom of my heart that the people will succeed in standing up to their government.

For more information:

If you are on twitter you can follow @StopAhmadi and @ProtesterHelp and do as I did by turning your user pic green and setting your location and timezone to Tehran.

There are also many places where you can read more about what’s going on, such as these:

How to HelpCyberwar GuideWhy We Protest

This information comes mainly from here.

***

June 17th was Iceland’s National Day. I spent the day with my best friend Helga. We went for a walk down town, had some cotton candy and enjoyed the weather. Then we had a nice long walk through the oldest cemetery in Reykjavík. I took some pictures. Click on this picture to see them. The cemetery is lovely during the day, but incredibly creepy at night.

***

I guess this will have to do for now. I don’t have much else to say. I will try not to wait so long before I write another entry.

Leave a Reply

