A bit more on religion

It amuses me that one post about religion gave me more hits than ever before. Not a lot of hits, mind you, just more hits. I even got a comment! People are so adoringly predictable. :)

It surprised me, when I was writing that bit of text in my last entry, how angry I got. It really irritates me that I’m considered arrogant for daring to say that god doesn’t exist. I simply have never seen a reason to believe that he does. Everything I’ve read and all my thoughts on the matter have led me to the same conclusion: he doesn’t. It makes no sense that a god could possibly exist. And like my father has pointed out: what does “god” even mean? The concept makes no sense.

I think it’s arrogant of religious people to tell me that my atheism means I lack morals and that my life is pointless, meaningless. I have a strong sense of morals and I am happy. I find meaning in my family, my friends and my studies. There doesn’t need to be an ultimate purpose.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Halla
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 18:39:13

    I agree sfm.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

