I’m still here!

I’ve been quiet now for over a month. Sorry about that.

I went to Brighton for 4 weeks. I lived on the University of Sussex campus, learned a lot about global health and met lots of awesome people. Mostly Americans.

I really liked how the classes were set up. We had two seminars each week and instead of the teacher having a long lecture we simply talked about the readings. It encouraged us to read everything on time and to think about the subjects. It was also a fantastic English training for me.

I learned that the Cuban health care system is awesome, the Chinese one is worrisome, Michael Moore is brilliant, the pharmaceutical companies are disgusting, and that AIDS is a bigger problem than I had realized. My interest in this subject is now greater than ever.

I wrote a paper on why the developing countries have had trouble accessing AIDS drugs. It is here if anyone’s interested in reading it.

Brighton is a wonderful city and I really enjoyed my stay, except for the room I got. It was kind of disgusting. There were moths and spiderwebs everywhere and I was twitchy all the time. I need some kind of phobia therapy. There were also bunnies though! Bunnies!! And I saw foxes too! I went on a trip to Stonehenge and Bath, which I enjoyed very much.

During my time there I also went to Sheffield and met with the head of a masters programme I’m interested in. It’s called Master in Public Health in International Development. We talked about the programme and she showed me around the Geography building. I’m going to put my application together this fall and send it in before Christmas. She said I will probably get a conditional acceptance and will get in if my final grade is good enough. I see no reason to think it won’t be. I’m terribly excited.

Now I’m home and school has begun. I have some interesting courses and some not so interesting. I’m not terribly excited for Image interpretation and remote sensing and Sociological Theories is going to be a lot of stuff I’ve already covered for the most part. I have one research project for sociology and one for geography (with a week long trip in October). Then I added Criminology just for fun. I’m looking forward to that!

I also have a job. I’m going to be working at a nursing home every other weekend. It’s not the grandest of jobs, but for some reason I’ve always kind of enjoyed doing this sort of work. I was working this weekend and it was really nice.

So. Now I just have to start being better about coming up with stuff to write here.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ontario
    Sep 01, 2009 @ 18:07:20

    Sounds like a great adventure thus far! Its tuff to find things to blog about! I’m the worst at keeping up with my blog

    Reply

Leave a Reply

