Eastern Europe

This is the Lithuanian Eurovision song from this year. It’s awesome. It’s also remarkably smart and it makes me feel ashamed of myself and my country. Check out the lyrics:

You’ve seen it all before
We ain’t got no taste we’re all a bore
But you should give us chance
Cause we’re just victims of circumstance
We’ve had it pretty tough
But that’s ok, we like it rough
We’ll settle the score
We survived the reds and 2 world wars

Get up and dance to our Eastern European kinda…
Get up and dance to our Eastern European kinda…
Get up and dance to our Eastern European kind of funk!

Yes Sir, we are legal we are, though we are not as legal as you
No Sir we’re not equal no, though we are both from the EU
We build your homes and wash your dishes,
Keep your hands all soft and clean
But one of these days you’ll realize Eastern Europe is in your genes

Get up and dance to our Eastern European kinda
Get up and dance to our Eastern European kinda
Get up and dance to our Eastern European kind of funk

(emphasis mine)

Every year we here in Western Europe go on about how the Eastern European countries send crap songs to Eurovision and then only ever vote for each other and how they are spread out all over Europe as migrants and that they’re ruining Eurovision. It’s disgusting and it needs to stop. They tend to vote for each other for the same reason we tend to vote for each other (the Scandinavian countries are the worst!): because they like the music! Their music tends to not appeal to us and our music tends to not appeal to them. It’s as simple as that.

Also, I need to stop talking about us and them. We’re all just people and we have as much right as everyone else to enjoy our music, feel sympathetic toward the people/nations closest to our own and not be prejudiced against just because of where we come from.

I work at a nursing home and my coworkers come from all over the world: China, Japan, Thailand, Sri Lanka, Spain, Canada, Brazil, Lithuania, Poland, etc. They are all wonderful people! They work hard, they are funny, they are kind and they are just as awesome as the Icelanders I work with. I’ve always been very positive toward migration and immigrants, but after working there I have learned that even I am and have been incredibly prejudiced and I’m working on that. It really hit me especially one day when I heard that one of the girls from Lithuania had been crying because she’d had a difficult phone call from home. It made me think that I’m moving to England in the fall and it’s going to be difficult. It’s not different for her or other migrants and we need to show them more consideration.

Eastern Europeans are not our slaves, they are no more criminally inclined than anyone else and they are not here to steal our jobs or live off our welfare system. They are just people searching for a better life and they are welcome to do so as far as I am concerned. I’m proud to work by their side.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Rickie Plesant
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 12:27:11

    I carnt imagine quite a few of the internet sites My partner and i have been taken to by stumblupon (basically now this site) I was seeking to pass a few tremendously dreary 60 minutes away, when stumbleupon dropped me right here. What a great web site you have got Im so happy to have located it I have just spent the previous twenty mins working through quite a few of your articles, and have also bookmarked some of them. I will defiantly be back to read a bit more when i have alittle more time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

